The American Politics Group’s2023 Richard E. Neustadt Book Prize

Nominations Invited for

Supported by the University of Cambridge Mellon Fund

The Richard E. Neustadt Book Prize, worth £500, is well established as a leading award devoted to UK and European publications on US politics.

In recognition of the valuable contribution made over the years to APG’s work by our colleagues in other European countries, eligibility is again extended to include authors based at any university in Europe as well as the UK.

Books published in 2023 are eligible.

Works nominated for the 2023 Richard E. Neustadt Book Prize must be:

  • in the field of US government and politics (including political history and foreign policy)
  • published in the calendar year 2023 and in the English language
  • authored by an academic employed at a university in the UK or mainland Europe
  • available in hard copy
  • entered for consideration by the closing date of 31 January 2024

The 2023 prize will be awarded by the panel of judges to the book that they consider to be the best from those nominated.

The £500 prize is generously supported and fully funded by the University of Cambridge Mellon Fund.

Entrants for the prize should arrange for four copies of their book to be sent to the chair of judges Dr Clodagh Harrington. Please email for postal address details.

Information on previous winners is available here.